Things I Like

Website: Wait but Why

featured image via Wait but Why

Wait but Why is a website/blog that has gone viral on Facebook.  It’s only been around since July 2013, which just goes to show that thoughtful & amusing content really is the most important factor in getting readership.

The most popular article is:

Why Generation Y Yuppies are Unhappy

It’s a pretty interesting and my favorite thing about the blog is the way he uses cute pictures and graphs to make his point.  He’s not just bitching, he’s proving.

However, my all time favorite post is 7 Ways to Be Insufferable on Facebook.

You see, this girl I know always posts statuses that are some version of:

“I had this AMAZING 30 mile bike ride! And then my incredible husband made me hot chocolate.  And I can’t WAIT to hang out tonight with the most awesome people ever”

or

“I just want to thank all the incredible people who have been there for me. Thanks xxx, xxx xxx, love you!”

or

“I had the most meaningful experience I’ve had in the longest time. It was so perfect and nothing is better”

So anyways, I totally stalk her because she’s just so public about her life.  Even though her statuses irk me, they also fascinate me. They also always stick with me, especially when I’m trying to do something in my own life.  On my own little half an hour run I’ll think, “Uh, so & so ran 10 miles. I’ll never be able to run that.”  When I come home from work and G. has made salad but not bought flowers, “Uh, so & so’s husband surprises her with flowers and hot chocolate”

In Wait but Why’s , 7 Ways to Be Insufferable on Facebook,  I finally get WHY her posts cause this reaction in me.

Wait but Why would call her statuses annoying and points out that it “reeks” of these motivations.

-“Image Crafting”

-“Attention Craving”

-“Jealousy Inducing”

Her posts definitely fall under “The Brag” and then he describes it like this:

“So at best, you’re just really excited about your life and you need to tell everyone, and at worst you’re specifically hoping to make people feel worse about their lives and jealous of yours. Somewhere in the middle would be you calculatingly crafting your words as part of an unendearing and transparent campaign to make people see you in a certain way.”

Yes. Yes. Yes.  SO PERFECTLY WORDED.  Totally describes the phenomenon.  And also totally illuminates why I have the reaction I do.  Because her statuses are CREATED to be make me feel jealous (even if not on purpose) and to be cries for attention.

My whole life makes so much more sense now! (Yes, I’m exaggerating).

Anyways, go check out the website.

Do any readers have experience with facebook friends who are “insufferable” on facebook?

-EV

(ps: images via Wait but Why)

Leave a Reply

