Drawing / Self Growth / Uncategorized

Simplicity

The summer between my Sophomore and Junior year of college, I would become struck by bursts of quick, clear, emotions or needs while working at my job.  I found that the easiest and clearest way to express my emotions was through these simple stick figure drawings.

As you can see in the drawings, I was working at a job where I often felt overwhelmed and I felt different then my co-workers.  I was a research assistant in a basement with six other women.  The cubicles were open so there was no privacy. I would spend hour after hour inputting data, while the other women ran research experiments. My one joy was when I got a break from my desk to clean the toys the children slobbered all over.  And the drawings, thankfully, are the only thing that remain of that experience!

-EV

Leave a Reply

