Self Growth / Uncategorized

Drawing: Hand

Drawing hands is notoriously difficult.  So, when I came across a tutorial on how to draw hands at work, I pinned it onto my pinterest board and went back to it later that night with my sketchpad in hand.

Well, I didn’t end up finding it very useful.  I’ve realized that with drawing, like most things in my life, when I try to follow rules, the end result is much worse then if I just trust my intuition.

After the hand I drew ended up having all the wrong proportions (I swear, I tried to follow the tutorial exactly!), I decided to just try and draw my own hand.  I followed my drawing teachers advice and simply tried to pay close attention to all of the details of my hand.

From start to finish:

(thumbnail grid)

-EV

Leave a Reply

